National Policing Institute Annual Awards Program

In 2022, NPI established the prestigious Annual Awards Program to recognize leaders in policing whose exceptional and innovative work has advanced the profession.

Two awards are presented annually: the Commissioner Patrick V. Murphy Award for Leading Change in Policing and the Hubert Williams Equal Justice and Effective Policing Award.

Submit nominees for consideration and explore these awards and past honorees below.

“Honorees selected for these awards are true visionaries and serve as role models and mentors to many across the policing profession.”

Jim Burch, President, National Policing Institute

Commissioner Patrick V. Murphy Award for Leading Change in Policing

This award honors a police executive who has taken bold steps to improve, reform, or advance policing from within the profession. Likely challenging the status quo, this candidate has implemented innovative, evidence-based initiatives within their community or agency. The ideal candidate's work should have made a lasting impression on a community or the profession at large and has likely impacted policy, local or national public safety standards, overall quality of life, or other factors of similar importance.

Find out why this award is named for Commissioner Murphy, whom we have honored in the past, and what we are looking for in a 2024 nominee.

Hubert Williams Equal Justice and Effective Policing Award

This award recognizes a police executive who currently or previously championed and promoted fairness, equal justice, and the civil rights of all. The ideal candidate will have worked to advance policing and public safety in ways that emphasize constitutional and civil rights, communities’ roles in safety or justice, agency accountability, and/or addressing racial or ethnic disparities. This candidate’s experience should have impacted a community or police agency through education, published research, policy change, passing of legislation, or similar caliber.

Learn more about Mr. Williams' trailblazing career, our previous honoree, and the qualifications that make someone worthy of this honor.