The Institute's Fellowship Program

Fellows at the National Policing Institute (the Institute) are current or former members of criminal justice organizations whose knowledge, experience, and skills help support and advance the Institute's mission. Fellows serve on subject-matter working groups, focused on areas aligned with the Institute's strategic priorities, to help ensure the Institute is grounded in a comprehensive understanding of the practical needs of law enforcement organizations and practitioners. Fellows work on specific projects, represent the Institute in meetings and conferences, and develop substantive thought pieces and resources to address the pressing issues facing policing. Fellows serve for three-year terms, renewable once by the Institute's president.

The application window for the Fellowship Program will open on April 1st of each calendar year and remain open through June 30th of each calendar year. If you are interested in applying for the Fellowship Program, please check this page for application instructions during the application window.

Current Policing Fellows

Former Fellows

The National Policing Institute recognizes the following individuals for their prior contributions as fellows:

Chief Shon Barnes
Chief Debora Black
Chief Jim Blocker
Chief Rick Braziel
Deputy Director John Buchanan
Chief Mark Chaires, Ph.D.
Major David Dalton
Chief David Dominguez
Director Wes Farmer
Sgt. Matthew Faulk
Sheriff Bob Gualtieri
Chief Jeffrey Hadley
Chief Mark Helms
Chief Maris Herold
Chief Ronnell Higgins

Director Thomas Hoffman
Commander Kevin Huddle
Chief Keith Humphrey
Chief Eric Jones
Chief Michael Meehan
Bernard Melekian, DPPD
Dan Merkle
Chief Michael Miller
Chief John Perez
Deputy Chief Adrienne Quigley
Chief Cynthia Renaud
Director Eddie Reyes
Dep. Director Ellen Scrivner, Ph.D.
Chief Jennifer Tejada
Chief Walt Tibbet

Commander Rachel Tolber
Dep. Superintendent Dan Wagner
Chief Paul Walters
Lt. William Baskay
Sgt. Roger Callese
Sgt. Roy Davis
Detective Matthew Dotts
Sgt. Jeremiah Johnson, Ph.D.
Sgt. David Mason
Sgt. Renee Mitchell
Special Agent Tamirra Robinson
Sgt. Greg Stewart
Sgt. Jose Villanueva, Ph.D.
Sgt. Danny Miller